Gift Exchange

It’s that time of the year… the Friday before the Holiday Weekend – and the numerous gift exchanges with coworkers.  I’m fortunate to work with such a great group of people, but I’m not sure my waistline is as appreciative of the cookies, cakes and bottles of wine sitting on my desk right now.

Earlier this year I tried to think of a creative and cost effective gift idea for this holiday season.  Much thanks to my foodgawker account I saved a Homemade Vanilla Extract recipe a while back.

image

It’s super simple and pretty awesome (in my opinion).  I just ordered 10 Tahitian Vanilla Beans from Beanilla and some gorgeous square glass containers online.  Once they arrived I simply sliced the bean open, put it into the jar and filled it with vodka (they recommend not using super high end vodka because of possible flavor additives, but I probably wouldn’t go the Taaka route either…).

image

After three months or so of fermenting they’ll be the perfect addition to your holiday cookies! 

image

Tagged

One thought on “Gift Exchange

  1. […] year I made homemade vanilla and while it does take a little planning (or at least waiting on the recipient’s end – […]

I'd love your thoughts!

